Karolyn and Nancy Drew

My children have a nick name for their mother, “Nancy Drew”. It made me laugh then, it makes me laugh now.

I suppose our inclinations as parents are clearly seen by our children. I think the appropriate tag line here is, “out of the mouth of babes”.

I was known to question the car that had driven by the house for the third time in ten minutes, or the person walking slowly down the road peering into each yard they passed, or better yet, strange  curious behavior; for example, ” why are their eyes so shifty when I am talking to them?”

The truth is I am charged by mystery! My favorite fictional reads are Agatha Christie novels! oooooh I LOVE her writing, she keeps me guessing and speculating and my curiosity spiked!

I am always on a quest for answers. My father taught me that there is no shame in asking questions, he encouraged me to ask questions. I have learned that with the right questions the right answers come.In my mind every question answered is another brush stroke of detail on the mental picture I am painting in my mind of every situation and of every individual life.

I can be a pain in the padded cheeks because I am relentless to find answers. It is like having an engine running non-stop with  desire to solve  problems. To bring  conclusions so that  beginnings can start.

In the book of Isaiah chapter 55 and verses 8-9 it is written: “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as high as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.”

These words of truth tell me that Nancy Drew, no matter how much she may try, will NEVER be able to figure out the “why” behind God’s thoughts or ways with us. I so easily run on ahead with life details and find myself thinking thoughts like, “Well, this must be happening because God knows this, or that such and such is going to happen therefore He must be allowing this for this reason or season so that ………”( See this crazy, busy mind of mine? ).

God’s word, TRUTH tells me that His thoughts and ways are HIGHER than the heavens are above the earth! You and I both know that that distances no one will ever be able to measure! It is BEYOND our grasp, BEYOND our control!

There is a “but” coming here; In Genesis chapter 18, Abraham has an on going dialogue of questions with God over the destruction of  the city of Sodom. Abraham is relentless in his quest for an answer from God, in verses 22-33 this conversation is recorded; seven times in just eleven verses Abraham comes back to God.

What is interesting to me as I read this account is in verse 27 Abraham uses these words, “Behold, I have undertaken to speak to the Lord, I who am but dust and ashes.” And in verses 30 and 32 Abraham says to God, “Oh let not the Lord be angry and I will speak.” I see here that Abraham knew he was just a man, and because of the frailty of his fleshly mind,  his dust like existence, he was a bit fearful of his repetitive and determined quests for a response. Even so he asked God over and over so that he might have assurance of God’s heart for the righteous.

As I pondered and studied this Hebrews 4:16 came to mind, “Let us then WITH CONFIDENCE draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” and I pondered Psalm 103:14, “For He KNOWS our frame, He REMEMBERS that we are DUST.” and THEN my eyes were drawn back to Genesis 18:22-23, “So the men turned from there and went toward Sodom, BUT ABRAHAM STILL STOOD BEFORE THE LORD. Then Abraham DREW NEAR and said……”. Abraham’s questions started from this place of “nearness” (if there is such a word).

All our questions, all our seeking, all our longings, and desire for answers are meant to be brought before the throne of God. Each and every one of them!!

Psalm 62:8 says, “TRUST in Him AT ALL times, O people; POUR OUT your heart BEFORE HIM; God IS a REFUGE for us.” In other-words, like water cascading from a steep rock face, let the questions fall, let them come before Him, He is not surprised by them, or angered by them, He desires us to “draw near”, BECAUSE in the LACK of answers He becomes our refuge, our safe place, our fort! TRUST in God grows in this heart soil.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.  (Isaiah 55:8-9)

Nancy Drew can be at peace, I DON”T HAVE TO HAVE ALL THE ANSWERS!!  ahhh!! What a relief! She KNOWS God does! AND they are beyond even my imagination, so I think I will just climb in the roller coaster and enjoy the ride! What a GREAT God we have! He has it ALL under control. Perhaps the shortened tag line to these thoughts from my red canoe today should be…….ASK, DROP, TRUST AND ROLL….

Have a good day you amazing God-created people!!

Leave a Reply

