a servant’s worship

I confess today that I have “writer’s block”, there is nothing, no words. Most likely because I am moving over the next few days and my head is full of details and lists and a heart full of crazy excitement!

Life is like shifty eyes, it never stays the same; each day offers different colors to paint life’s palette with… I wonder what will be on my canvas of life at the end of my day?

I read Proverbs 30, Psalm 122-123, Genesis 23-24 and I am encouraged to worship with every brush stroke. An example of such living is given to us through the historical story of Abraham’s servant, who was commissioned to find a wife for his son Isaac.

In Genesis 24:26-27 Abraham’s servant bowed his head and worshiped the Lord immediately after finding Rebekah. Rebekah’s family responded in favor of the servant taking her back to become Isaac’s wife. In 24:52 it is written, “When Abraham’s servant heard their words, he bowed himself to the earth before the Lord.”

(I think perhaps the writer’s block found an opening!)

What I received from the Word of God this morning was a canvas of beauty from the worship of a servant on an errand for his master. I see his heart, and I see that it was instinctual for him to bow in worship immediately from following God’s given direction and from having received God’s. Reading between the lines this servant must also have been living with the eyes of his heart wide open, he was living with expectation of an answer.

He had prayed a very specific prayer for direction, (see Genesis 24;10-14), and God answered, and he worshiped.

That’s it for today…live in expectation of hearing from God, with a heart prepared for worship ALWAYS!

Leave a Reply

