The March of the Clock

WHAM!

Music, food, laughter, gifts, family!!

WHAM!

Silence, leftovers, memories, and just two “old” people shuffling around in their bathrobes! (Well, I should clarify, our dear son is  still home for a bit yet).

Where did everyone go? For days I planned and prepared and anticipated; then with the stroke of the clock everyone had to say good-bye and life returned to pre-Christmas!

Time is a strange thing, it really is like a march that never stops, it cannot stop; the clock will continue to move on to another second, minute, hour, day, week, month, year……in just a few days we start a new year all over again!

What will it bring? Do you wonder?

This is just a short little thought today, but I wanted to couch it in these verses from Psalm 5 verses 11-12,

“..Let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you.

For you bless the righteous, O Lord; you cover him with favor as with a shield.”

Whatever the march of the clock brings, the unknown of each second awaiting for me, I CAN KNOW that as I take REFUGE in God, I can rejoice and sing with joy; I can LOVE my God and exult in Him. I can know that I live under the protection of God and that I can be covered with favor “as with a shield”.

Tick, tick, tick, I have no fear of this march of time and its unknown recipe of days. There is too much that I DO  know.

I know the Creator of this march and as I put my trust in Him I can change the march to dancing and sing for joy…..and yes….this is a choice, no one will do this for me!

Wherever this day finds you do you think you could do just one simple thing and choose to trust the One who has you “covered”? After all His concept of time is eternal, He sees FOREVER, and not only sees it, He is already there waiting for us!!

“O Lord, ‘Teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom….SATISFY us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may REJOICE and BE glad ALL our days.” (Psalm 90:12, 14)

Leave a Reply

