Dreams and a Coloured Coat

 

Seems like I wasted years circling back to a childhood dream. A dream that drove me in many ways and camped on the back-burner of my mind.

Most of the conferences I have attended have been about common themes of leadership and Jesus; hours of learning, leading to hours of waiting for some ship to come and take me to the “dream factory” where I would receive a package with my name on it, and then my life could begin. I

In the book of Genesis, I discover a truth about the  incredible journey of another dreamer.

The dreamer who had a coat of many colours;  Joseph was his name.

 Joseph had courage and stupidity as he ran to share his wonderful dream with his brothers. Courage because he was younger than all of them, and stupid because the dreams spoke of the authority he would have over his older brothers.

Like seriously, can you imagine running to tell your older siblings that you had had a dream that someday they would all bow down to you?  How well would that go over?!

Why didn’t Joseph keep his dream to himself? If you read Genesis 37:1-11, I think  you will see that Joseph was a bit of a tattle tale.

I want to skip to Gen.50:15-21. I am making an assumption that you know how this story unfolded. All the injustice that came to Joseph, and the long wait before his dreams were even confirmed.

The older brothers being the venue of  injustice served to Joseph, were all shaking in their boots after their father Jacob (Israel) died. They were terrified that now Joseph would pay them back for all  the ill they had done to him. But the Joseph they anticipated meeting was not the Joseph that met them.

“But Joseph said to them, “Do not fear, for am I in the place of God? As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today.” (Gen. 50:20)

I have read this story so many, many times, and yet it was just yesterday I caught a truth I hadn’t observed before; Joseph’s dreams were NOT about Joseph having a dream to fulfill his desire, the dreams were given because GOD had a plan to SAVE  A TRUCKLOAD OF PEOPLE FROM STARVING TO DEATH!!!

Woah horsey come again? Here I’ve been thinking all these years what a blessed  man Joseph was to have received these dreams from God ( and yes, in a sense he was) but God was looking for someone to deliver HIS plan to rescue many. God could have used anything or anyone he wanted,  He chose Joseph as the tool, and by the time God needed Joseph to lead, Joseph the man was clearly off the throne of his own life: it was no longer about a “dream”, his own identity or purpose, it was all about him being strategically set up by God. A simple pawn in the great chess game of life.

We think our lives are all about us (well, maybe I stand alone, of course I think it’s all about me, who else is there? Smile and a wink) our individual calling, but we fail to realize the purpose of calling is NOT to define us or to give us life purpose, it is because God has a plan to save someone or save many.

I am foolish to think that a dream would be for ME. Perhaps that is why God allowed the long ordeal of  isolation for Joseph?!

As soon as Joseph had his dreams he shared them! He had NO CLUE of the purity of the divine purpose. He was obviously thinking of what it meant for himself and his brothers…how interesting……

“Let your Word invade and change my life O God! Let your Kingdom come on earth as it is in heaven from within this broken life that YOU continue to redeem……Holy Spirit you are my song, enable me to embrace ALL that you are, ALL that the Father intended to give to me by leaving us You! Transform this dreaming mind and heart to be a carrier of YOUR divine plan, even if it means ironing a shirt for my husband, or changing my granddaughter’s poopy diaper. Only YOU know the why behind all things and for what reason You ask of us the things you do..

You alone are God, You alone know what and why and when and how and for what reason! “

“TRUST in the Lord with ALL your heart, and DO NOT lean on YOUR OWN understanding. In ALL your ways ACKNOWLEDGE HIM, and He will make straight your paths.” Prov. 3:5-6

 

 

Leave a Reply

