The Forest Floor…

The title given to the work of art is “Gateway to Eternity”.

A narrow path winds itself through the forest floor. Pieces of undergroweth are scattered like wind blown leaves but their little roots have given them home in the dark forest soil. Large foreboding trees stand like giants in a bog of mist, guarding (or maybe protecting?) the borders of the path.

The entrance to the path boasts a stoned arched gate made of rugged old rocks, and the gate is a backdrop for a bouquet of wild flowers growing at its’ foundation.

This is the picture my eyes have rested on today, this piece of art holds great symbolic value to my soul.

Do you suppose the title given by the artist was a metaphor of the unveiling of Eternity’s gate as we journey the long paths of waiting on the Lord? Of trial and testing? And/or as we journey through the dark nights of the soul?

Listen to the Words of Jesus:

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser. Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that DOES bear fruit, HE PRUNES, THAT it may bear MORE fruit….ABIDE in ME, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, UNLESS it abides in the vine, neither can you, UNLESS YOU ABIDE IN ME.  I am the vine; you are the branches. WHOEVER abides in me, and I in him, HE IT IS that bears MUCH fruit, for apart from me, YOU CAN DO NOTHING. ” (John 15:1-5)

The journey of suffering and waiting is God’s work of pruning. The dense forest floor boasts of deafening silence and long, narrow paths with no visible exit; much like the times given to try the soul.

Do you welcome and accept the hand of the Pruner? 

The artist’s canvas revealed living truth to me…. the journey into the forest, the journey of yielding one’s life to the pruning process, is one you must take alone. If we are unwilling to walk this sacred and mysterious path, we will not taste nor drink from the deep of the Water of Life.

…….

“Have Thine own way Lord, have Thine own way,

Thou art the Potter, I am the clay;

Mold me and make me, after Thy will,

WHILE  I am waiting yielded and still”

 

Leave a Reply

