PRAYER

It falls under a sub-heading: “David’s Prayer”…………

“Then King David went in and SAT before the Lord and said, “Who am I , O Lord God, and what is my house that you have brought me thus far?” (1 Chron. 17:16).

I began a study through 1st Chronicles, I have felt led to study here for a while and I discovered (once I breezed past all the genealogy) that this first book is much about worship.

The verse above created heaving intense desire within my soul and I cried out to God, ” THIS is the place I want to LIVE from!”

How do I describe what rolled over within me? It created passion and longing for MORE of God, just that one little verse, and if you read the rest of the passage you will see what I discovered.

David had an intimate relationship with God. David was a worshipful man, a praying man. He was a man who lived out of the realities of confrontations he met with as a human, and desired God intensely in the midst of them. We are so blessed to read of this chronic wrestling match He had between life on earth and a soul longing for more of God.

When is the last time you found a secret place to sit before the Lord? When is the last time you stilled your soul long enough to discover that sweet communion of deep calling to deep?

The Word of God is FULL of truth and instruction regarding prayer.

Prayer is a result of worship, of knowing the One with Whom you seek audience.

Can you picture David?  Sitting with a posture of humility, need, and of longing? Legs cannot walk when they are bent beneath your body.

I LONG to worship, to sit at the Almighty’s feet…to know that as I do, secrets of the unseen realm are revealed, strength is given to live, and my life is traded in for His.

Do you know how Webster’s dictionary defines the word “pray”? : “to address God with adoration, pleading, or thanksgiving.”

To “address” God? I suppose this is good, technical and proper “english”, but since my grammar and spelling already stink maybe this simpleton can get away with some other words.

As David sat there, his first words were words of deep humility, “Who am I, O Lord God, and what is my house, that you have brought me thus far?”

He “addresses” God and asks a question that reflects the posture of his body; “WHO AM I THAT YOU…”

Have you tasted of this deep transaction of soul? If not, why not? What are your questions? Is your God too aloof? Is your God real? Has your God saved you, and if so, from what? What have you been taught about who He is?  Do you LONG to be with him in prayer?

Listen to what David wrote in the psalms: “TRUST in Him AT ALL TIMES, O people; POUR OUT YOUR HEART BEFORE HIM: God IS a REFUGE for us. ” (psalm 62:8)

Have you made prayer into a recipe that you can never partake of ? David could say “Pour our your heart”, because this is how the man lived. To pour out means to empty a vessel of its contents! Maybe too many live with chronic pre-occupation;  they play at an illusive game of hide and seek, with themselves….maybe? Perhaps? I dunno….

“Pray WITHOUT CEASING” (1 Thess. 5:17)

I don’t mean to be smug! I started talking to Jesus when I was four years old, it was instinctive to me, I knew He was there, I knew He was always listening and I knew I needed Him desperately even as a little girl.

I wanted Him to know everything I was thinking and feeling and seeing, I loved to ask Him questions, and I loved to hear and see Him speaking to me through creation and His word and music, EVEN AS a little girl. So What would prompt a little girl to be obsessed with God? Hmmm…do you think maybe God Himself? It had NOTHING to do with my life, I am just a little piece of sand on a vast expanse of shoreline.

If He has set eternity on the heart of every human being (Ecc. 3:11) then within my child heart was a built in “homing” device, searching, longing for the more of life; reaching, seeking and learning what it means to love the God who created me; and guess what? That same device is within you too, calling out in a whisper, for you to sit awhile and speak with the One who knows you, loves you, desires you.

Listen to the words of Jesus:

“And when you pray, do not heap up EMPTY PHRASES (I suggest that perhaps these are words not spoken from the heart?) as the Gentiles do, for they think that they will be heard for their many words. Do not be like them, for your heavenly Father KNOWS what you need before you ask him. Pray then like this:

Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name. Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as IT IS in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our debts, AS WE ALSO have forgiven our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.” (Matt.6:7-13)

If you really don’t know where to start, then start with Jesus’ instruction on how to pray, and then keep praying!!

Leave a Reply

