I had it in my heart…..

I have been studying through 1 Chronicles. I have so enjoyed reading of the importance and the placement of worship in the temple.

In chapter 28 David gives an address to Israel; in verse two he says, “I had it in my heart to build a house of rest for the ark of the covenant of the Lord and for the footstool of our God, and I MADE PREPARATIONS FOR BUILDING. BUT GOD SAID to me, “you may NOT build a house for my name…..it is Solomon your son who shall build my house and my courts, for I have CHOSEN HIM to be my son, and I will be his father…..” (second half of this scripture is from verse six).

This struck me with a whack and a half!

 Yes with a smickity-smackity-roo….

The text says that David “had it in his heart” to build a house for the name of God, he even made preparations, but God said “No”; David was NOT the man, David was NOT who God had chosen for this task! God had chosen another, and not just any other, God had chosen David’s son!

Listen to this: “The plans OF THE HEART belong to man, BUT the ANSWER of the tongue IS FROM THE LORD.” (Prov. 16:1) and a little later in this same chapter, verse nine says; “The HEART of man PLANS HIS WAY, BUT THE LORD establishes his steps.”

What I understand the Word of God telling us here is that our hearts may carry plans and dreams and even great and pure intentions of what we desire to do for God, but if God has not assigned that task to us, it will not be ours to accomplish.

This carries significant light to me as I have often seen God’s roadblocks, and “no” answers to my dreams and plans as something negative, which then created a militant spirit within to walk “dutifully”. It produces a veil that keep me from seeing that His response to my desires was actually an answer of CLOSURE, not a reason to keep dreaming and hoping that somehow He might change His mind.

 1 Chron. 17 also records David’s desire to build a house for the Lord. God sends Nathan to tell David that it will NOT  be him who will build the temple. David’s response is not one of a sucky-boo, His response is recorded in verse 16-27, and from what I read it was a response of worship. “Then King David went in and sat before the Lord and said, “who am I, O Lord God, and what is my house, that you have brought me thus far?”

So, my questions today?

First of all are you sitting still long enough to hear God’s answer for your plans, hopes and dreams?

Will you let Him have His way with you?

What if He says no to you? Will you obey Him in love and in joy? Or will you carry around little emotional attachments of your dream in your heart and continue hoping against hope that He might change His mind?

How much of your prayer life does this consume?

Are you filtering your reading of scripture through your desire to hear something that might tell you that God was just saying no for a little while? That really he had chosen you for an assignment after all?

Are you willing to LAY DOWN YOUR LIFE for Jesus, WHATEVER that may mean?

Maybe you are a leader, or have been a leader that God is now asking to serve quietly? Would you accept this?

Read Phil. 2:1-8 and Mark 10:35-45.

Jer.10:23; “I know, O Lord, that the way of man is not in himself, that it is not in man who walks to direct his steps.” 

 This is about God’s sovereignty isn’t it? If we lived like we trusted His hand completely for our lives, we WOULD BE dancers of joy, living each day  with soul abundance!

AGAIN it comes back to trust! DO YOU TRUST THE LORD YOUR GOD WITH AND FOR YOUR EARTHLY LIFE?

 Today would be a perfect day to ANSWER that question….

“TRUST in the LORD with ALL your HEART, and DO NOT lean on YOUR OWN understanding, in ALL your ways ACKNOWLEDGE HIM, and He WILL make straight your paths!” (Prov.3:5-6)

Leave a Reply

