The School House….

School and Karolyn; night and day; North and south; black and white.

Opposites.

My life and a school room equal mental AND physical trauma!

I have battled to accept this truth about myself because I have been married to the equivalent of an “Einstein” for 25 years. My husband has been given an unbelievable brain; Copious amounts of information absorbed, remembered AND used! He LIVES to learn, he LOVES education! I think part of his life calling is to be a chronic student! I love this about him and I admire it because a learning of this capacity produces a great struggle for me (Maybe all those tumbles during figure skating practise when my head hit the ice has something to do with it…? Or maybe I’m struggling to accept that God did not create my brain to function this way?)

As I sat in my old rocking chair this morning I reflected upon my daily routine of running to the Word of God. To learn more of Who He is, to catch glimpses of hope, of purpose of life and to hear Him speak to me. I read; “Morning by morning He awakens; He awakens my EAR to HEAR as those WHO ARE TAUGHT” ( Isa. 50:4).

It is not only a learning that takes place in my mind, but it is also a learning that takes place in my heart and my soul. It is as though Divine crayon goes to work within me; colouring in the heart places void of His own expressions of truth.

I am reminded of Jesus’ words to His disciples: “These things I have spoken to you while I am still with you. But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, He WILL TEACH YOU ALL THINGS and bring to YOUR REMEMBRANCE all that I have said to you” (Jn. 14:25-26).

Matthew Henry elaborates on this verse in his commentary: “….Christ was a teacher to His disciples; if He leave them now that they have made so little proficiency, what will become of them? Why, the Spirit shall teach them, shall be their standing tutor. He shall teach then all things necessary for them either to learn themselves, or to teach others. For those that would teach the things of God must first themselves be taught of God; this is the Spirit’s work.”

The word picture that comes to mind is a school classroom. I enter this learning time with God as though I am literally walking into a classroom to be taught. I sit down and focus my attention on the Divine Teacher, who PROMISES TO TEACH ME. And who has promised me a “Helper”, a tutor to stand right there beside me and lead me into all truth. Read 1 Cor. 2:6-16.

“O God, from my youth you have taught me” (Ps. 71:17).  Today I am awakened even more-so to  God’s word teaching me that I am always being taught!! However, this does not always translate into life transformation if I am not intentional and disciplined of hearing and application; I have only learned if I live out what I have been taught.

Why is there pursuit of further education or degree in a particular field of career? Is it not to excel? To understand? Even to enjoy one’s path of calling? We would expect no less from them! In fact we congratulate them, we applaud them! And we are so proud of them! Why is it  then that we approach God’s word so carelessly? It is as though we read with no expectation of being taught or expectation of its transforming power. I call to mind James words: “Be doers of the Word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves” (James 1:22), and”For the Word of God is LIVING and ACTIVE, SHARPER than ANY two-edged sword, PIERCING to the division of soul and spirit, of joints and marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” (Heb. 4:12)

I don’t know about you, but I will choose to run into this classroom of life-giving, life transforming teaching!

I sign off with a prayer today: “Jesus would you purify the soil of my heart so that your life-giving words would be planted within my heart and “tatted” on upon my flesh. If my life is to be like that of a “city on a hill” than it can only be such if you have made yourself at home within me through Your life and through Your Word. I am not interested in a life reflective of Karolyn, but a life that is known and defined by being Yours.”

Leave a Reply

