Message In a Bottle

Walking slowly along the shoreline of the ocean I can see that the sun is sinking silently on the horizon. I am lost in wonder as my eyes scan the colours displayed in the few remaining clouds painted across the heavens;  My ears hear only the sound of the waves crawling along the white sand beneath my feet. 

My mind is playing with pretending; a child’s game; a game that captures my imagination as I lose myself in God’s palette of creation.

I pretend for a moment that I am picking up a bottle that has been brought to shore by the tide. It is an old bottle and I can see that it holds a scroll of ancient paper. My heart begins to pound as my mind races with considerations of what could be scripted for me to discover.

My hands tremble, and quickly my eyes search for something to aid my itching fingers to get inside this exciting discovery of written secrets.

Ah! I see it; a small black retired piece of lava rock poking its head out of the sand, it is beckoning me to bring the bottle. Quickly I step toward it and lower the bottle against it’s hard surface. I hear the sound before I see the damage done to the old friend of the sea. The bottle is now in two pieces, but the old scroll is perfectly in tact.

Slowly I unroll the ancient text; an ancient language written in black ink stares back at me from the page.

I imagine that I can interpret the written text:

“The words of the wise are like goads, and like nails firmly fixed are collected sayings; they are given by ONE SHEPHERD. My son (daughter), BEWARE of anything beyond these. Of making many books there is no end, and much study is weariness of the flesh. The end of the matter; all has been heard. Fear God and keep His commandments, for this is the whole duty of man. For God will bring every deed into judgement, with every secret thing, whether good or bad.”… Ecclesiastes 12:11-14.

I stand in sacred silence. My mind still as I stare at the script laying open in my hands…..

Imagine.

Can you imagine such a discovery of truth?

Every day we hold this sacred scroll in our hands, every word given to us by ‘ONE SHEPHERD’; every word coming from the SAME SOURCE.

This is profound and glorious!

Matthew Henry comments on these verses of scripture: “If the end be not attained in the use of those books of scripture which God has blessed us with, neither should we obtain the end, if we had twice as many more; nay, if we had so many that the whole world could not contain them (Jn. 21:25), and much study would but confound us, and would rather be weariness to the flesh than any advantage to the soul. We have as much as God saw fit to give us, saw fit for us, and saw us fit for.”

“In the beginning was the WORD, and the WORD was with God and the WORD WAS GOD.” (John 1:1)

“EVERY word of God PROVES true…” (Prov. 30:5a)

You would think with such knowledge we would dine faithfully at such a banquet table of truth.

May we be found growing in our knowledge and understanding and love of God’s Word, our ONE SHEPHERD, THE WORD.

Leave a Reply

