The Heart of the Matter

“The crucible is for silver, and the furnace is for gold, and THE LORD TESTS HEARTS.” (Prov. 17:3)

“I know, my God, that you test the heart and HAVE PLEASURE in uprightness. In the uprightness of my heart I have freely offered all these things…” (1 Chron. 29:17)

“PROVE ME, O Lord, and try me; test my heart and  my mind.” (Ps. 26:2)

“I the Lord SEARCH the heart and TEST the mind, to give EVERY man according to his ways, according to the fruit of his deeds.” (Jer. 1:10)

Our hearts are God’s blank canvas, how will we yield to the drawing and erasing hand of the Divine Artist today?

Read with me a few verses from the Psalms; 78:22,32,36-37,39, 41-42)

 “…because they DID NOT BELIEVE in God and did NOT TRUST HIS SAVING POWER….”

“DESPITE HIS WONDERS they did NOT believe…..”

“But they flattered Him WITH THEIR MOUTHS and they lied to him with their tongues, their HEART was NOT STEADFAST toward Him; they were not faithful to His covenant.”

“Yet, He being compassionate, atoned for their iniquity, and did not destroy them. He restrained His anger often…”

“He remembered that they were but flesh and wind that passes and comes not again.”

“They tested God again and again….they did not remember His power or the day He redeemed them from the foe, when He performed His signs in Egypt.”

I am drawn into this Psalm, particularly after reading Proverbs 17; the heart and mind of man are a big deal to God! His pleasure is in hearts of purity, His pleasure cannot be otherwise because it is WHO HE IS!

As I read Psalm 78 I see how extravagantly patient God is and how desperately self-absorbed man is! Does this Psalm not reveal the depth of man’s heart?  Man seeking God, perhaps out of fear, but  maybe deeper still swift desire to tack up an external life message that says “All is well, now leave me alone!”

In verses 36-37  (of Psalm 78 ) we read that their hearts were NOT steadfast. Steadfastness would surely eliminate the pendulum swing from celebratory faith to raw, unrepented disbelief! Over and over I see, I hear, I read: “they did NOT believe”, BUT God IS  the persistent Lover.! He is unrelenting when we have forgotten Him; He pursues though we turn our hearts and minds onto other things; He is EL KANNA! (meaning, “I AM JEALOUS”).

The Word of God speaks so often of man’s heart and mind; of its wickedness and God’s crazy desire for purity to define it.

I see through this Psalm God’s powerful love. I can almost hear His cry to His people, “If only you knew, if only you would taste WHO I AM, If only you would be STEADFAST in your belief of me!”

The remembering of WHAT He had done for them was really a calling to remember HIM, ( you might have to read that sentence twice!!); the Word teaches us that EVERY man is known by his actions, would that not then be true of the God?

Perhaps we focus only on what He has DONE, and forget to remember the ONE the miracles define.

HE IS FAITHFUL! And if He desires a steadfast heart of me, then is it not obvious that HIS HEART is steadfast? He would not ask from us different from WHO HE IS!!!

This is precious truth to me! And through this truth, my heart and mind hear God’s word from both the new and old testaments folding into one river of constant, consistent truth!

Who governs your heart today?

Leave a Reply

