“Do You Work Wonders For the Dead?”

Life…

It never stays the same does it?

Somewhere,

Out there,

Ahead of my present minute,

Another change awaits me;

I hate change.

Really, really….

I’m not talking about a new paint colour or changing the furniture around, or an old recipe with a new twist, or old music with a new arrangement.

I’m talking about change that squeezes my heart and crushes my lungs and sends my head a million different directions all at the same time.

Ouch, ouch and ouch….

ouchy…

deep sigh…

Change; like when all your children leave home , a move, a loss of vocation or career, a life altering illness, or when death comes knocking far too soon and unexpectedly.

Scripture creates reflection deep within my soul, it creates pondering and a lingering in my mind like a hungry face over a bowl of homemade soup.

I read Psalm 85-88 today; I would like to share a few verses that stirred up these invasive thoughts:

“Do You work wonders for the dead? Do the departed rise up to praise you?

Is Your steadfast love declared in the grave, or Your faithfulness in Abaddon?

Are Your wonders known in the darkness, or Your righteousness in the land of forgetfulness?” (Psalm 88: 10-12)

One of my favorite writers is Charles H. Spurgeon; I share a few of his comments on these verses of scripture:

“While I live thou canst in me display the glories of Thy grace, but  when I have passed into the unknown land, how canst Thou illustrate in me Thy love? If I perish Thou wilt lose a worshipper who both reverenced, and in his own experience illustrated, the wonders of Thy character and acts.” (on verse 10).

“The living may indite “meditations among the tombs”, but the dead know nothing, and therefore can declare nothing…” (on verse 11).

“…Is not a living dog better than a dead lion, and a living believer of more value to the cause of God on earth than all the departed put together?” (on verse 12).

….  

As I grow older, change must become my friend, a welcomed friend. If I am alive to welcome this “friend” than I am obviously still alive to be influenced and shaped by it. Will I welcome its life movement or will I become dead even while I live?

Through these few verses I discover that if I am alive than I am a recipient of God’s wonders (vs. 10); I can “rise up to praise” the Lord (vs. 10); I can declare His steadfast love and His faithfulness (vs. 11); And I will know His wonders and His righteousness (vs. 12).

Matthew Henry comments on these verse; One sentence in particular stands out to me: “The life we are born to at first, and the life we hope to rise to at last, must thus be spent.”

 

Some day my body will rot beneath the cold fingers of earth. Blood will no longer run through the thousands of miles of highway within me. My mind will be dormant and still; no more thoughts, no more processing, no more dreaming. My tongue will no longer utter words, my lips no longer receiving the warmth of my husband’s kiss, etc.,etc! I could write my way through my entire body to describe one word; DEATH. My soul will be very much alive in eternity with Jesus while my physical body lays lifeless and void.

So for now, just what does this meant for me in this little blip of earthly life? I can and must choose to SPEND myself for the sake and glory of my precious Savior Jesus. He will ALWAYS be WITH me! This is amazing hope for me while I live! Jesus is my constant, He does not change! In life and in death He will reside with me ALWAYS! God’s word tells me this and I believe it with all my heart, soul and mind!

I leave you with these verses of scripture: “I (God speaking) will NEVER leave you or forsake you (Hebrews 13:5).

“God is not man, that He should lie, or son of man, that He should change His mind. Has He said, and will He not do it? Or has He spoken, and will He not fulfill it? (Numbers 23:19).

“For I the Lord do not change” (Malachi 3:6).

So what’s a little change on this side of the river? I know who walks with me in EVERY earthly change and who will be waiting for me when this life is over.

What is there to fear? Perhaps it’s time to celebrate life and worship the One who gave it to us!?

Leave a Reply

