Too pooped to ponder…

YOWZA and YIKES!

How in the Sam hill did I ever survive mommy-hood to three children under two and a half????

A few days of having my two dear grandchildren and I feel like I was thrown under a bus! I can hardly center my thoughts to decide what to make for dinner let alone write! The old girl needed a manual written on childcare for dummies to re-train my eyes to do the 360 swipe every other second. Good grief how old could I possibly be?!!

Both my daughters celebrated their birthdays last week as well….just HOW did my baby girls grow up so fast? Twenty-three and twenty-four years old; one is married and the mommy of my blessed grandchildren, the other graduating from university this month and getting married in August.

Time…..there’s that theme again…..how it slips away like the sun behind the ocean horizon.

Reflection….. upon one’s life and how it has been spent, on who surrounds you, who you belong to and the unknown path of the future.

Okay so I guess I am pondering..so much for being “pooped”!

I studied Psalm 139 again; this classic psalm was heavy on my heart for a couple of days so I decided to press in and read it again and again, it led me to read Psalm 100 and Isaiah 43.

The theme that the Holy Spirit was lifting off the pages to me was that I belonged to God, I AM HIS.

Listen to this:

“Where can I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? If I ascend to heaven, YOU ARE THERE!  If I make my bed in Sheol, YOU ARE THERE!  If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, EVEN THERE your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me. If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,” EVEN THE DARKNESS is as LIGHT to you.” (Psalm 139:7-12)

“KNOW that the Lord, HE IS GOD!  It is HE who made us, and we ARE HIS, we are HIS people, and the SHEEP of HIS pasture.” (Psalm 100:5)

“But now says the Lord, he who created you, O Jacob, He who formed you, O Israel: “fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you BY NAME, YOU ARE MINE.” (Isaiah 43:1)

I am only writing a few of these verse out for reading here on this page but I would encourage you to read the entire chapters of each.

My simple point today is this; for me, after the week and a half of the living I’ve had, I received such soul strength from being reminded that I BELONG to the God of the universe. I am encompassed by a mighty hand of great splendor and power and majesty. There is absolutely no where I can go, or even be where His great presence is not already there waiting for me.

In John chapter ten, Jesus is declaring Himself as the “Good Shepherd”, in verse 27 -28

He speaks truth to the Jews surrounding Him, “MY sheep HEAR MY VOICE, and I KNOW THEM, and they follow ME. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and (get this, this is sooo great!) NO ONE WILL SNATCH THEM OUT OF MY HAND. My Father, who has given them to me, is GREATER THAN ALL, and NO ONE is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.”

So in my “too pooped to ponder” type day I KNOW to whom I belong, and I KNOW Who has my life entirely in His hands! I am safe, I am ALWAYS within the eye of the Watchful Shepherd, cared for as a sheep in His fold!

Take soul rest dear reader, choose to trust in Jesus the “Good Shepherd”, He really does have EVERYTHING under control. If even the darkness is as light to Him, and if He would find you on the remotest of islands, does that not speak of profound, intimate care to you? O yes, it surely does, it surely does.

Amen and amen.

Leave a Reply

