Shadows of Death

Jesus said in Matthew 10:38-39 , “whoever does NOT take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, whoever loses his life for my sake WILL FIND IT.”

Jesus paid a price for our sin with His life. I have great doubt in our ability to understand Jesus’ road of suffering. We read in the Word of God that He experienced soul agony. Jesus asked if the cup of suffering could be removed from His life (see Matthew 26: 36-40). He struggled to take up His cross as well.

What if Jesus wimped out on us all? What if He desired an earthly kingdom instead?

Compared to Jesus…. we are a culture of wimps.

And whiners.

Walkers of tails between our legs.

The first sign of trouble, heartache, sorrow or nasty unexplainable circumstances and our instincts tell us to RUN.

If Jesus told us to “TAKE UP” our cross and “FOLLOW”, why do we think our lives should be free of pain? Or shadows of death? Have these trials not been sent for greater purpose? Perhaps to extract the dross that shadows the image of Christ to us?

Could the cost of following Jesus consist of some hovering realities of the choices we’ve made that have led us away from the cross of Christ? Could it be an allegorical image to speak of a death that NEEDS to happen so that we COULD follow Jesus? So that we would follow Jesus?

What if we willingly surrendered our lives to be “sifted like wheat?” What then? Would our faith prove to be fickle?

How could Jesus live fully in my life if I am full of myself? God’s Word lands the answer to this question for me; “I (Karolyn) have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, WHO LOVED ME and gave Himself for me” (Gal. 2:20).

This is why it is possible for me to take up my cross daily, it is a resuslt of  living by faith “in the Son of God who LOVED me and GAVE HIMSELF for me.”

I can testify that in embracing the cost I have discovered LIFE…..I am discovering deeper glory from Jesus words in John 10:10-11: “….but I came that they may have life and have it abundantly. I am the good Shepherd. The good Shepherd lays down His life for His sheep.”

What is keeping you from following Jesus with abandon?

Perhaps it needs to ‘die’?

Leave a Reply

