The Night-time Caller…

There is great mystery surrounding the wakeful soul in the middle of the night.

Toss and turn…

Turning and tossing…

What is that I hear?

A sound? No…

O but I do hear something…

Is my name Horton?

A very small whisper is heard…

What did you say?

Did someone say something?

Toss and turn…

Turning and tossing….

Knock, knock, knock.

O for Pete’s sake! I WANT TO SLEEEEP!!!

A name, a face, a soul comes waltzing through my mind.

Over and over,

and over.

Now I’m awake; the whisper has a finger.

Poke, poke, poke.

Ouch! My heart! Heaviness accompanies a vision of someone.

Oh! I get it….PRAY!!!!

“I remember your name in the night, O Lord..” (Psalm 119:55); “By day the Lord commands His steadfast love, and at night His song is with me, a prayer to the God of my life” (Psalm 42:8). These scriptures describe a reoccurring night-time theme for me.

But I am a slow learner.

I believe that the names and faces that are so prevalent in my heart and mind in those wee hours of darkness are beloved souls for whom I am being asked to pray for. Often they are warfare prayers. Prayers of “fighting” with spiritual weapons in the deep on behalf of another.

It seems quite odd when you stop to think about it.

The Creator of the universe is waking His beloved ones up all over the world to pray for one another.

Are we listening? Or do we continue to toss and turn, trying desperately to shut down so we can get back to sleep?

Have you been visited by the Night-time Caller? Are you obeying the voice of the Lord?

In Psalm 139 David writes; “If I say, “surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,” even the darkness is not dark to You; for the night is AS BRIGHT AS THE DAY, for darkness IS AS LIGHT with You” (verses 11-12).

Perhaps this is about being “still”?

Having a quiet soul?

How are you doing with that?

What about your day? Do you have an attentive mind and soul to the whispers and promptings of the Spirit of God? The crushing but gentle angst that beckons; beckons that voice be given in request for another.

Are you listening?

What kind of victories would be unleashed in our brothers and sisters lives if we LIVED this way?

May this be a day of cleaning the soul house, of de-cluttering our mind of anxieties, worries, stress, and lists. A day of simplifying; SO THAT we can be on about God’s work FOR EACH OTHER!

1 Thess. 5:17; “PRAY WITHOUT CEASING.

Slumbering soul prayers I believe, are birthed from the deep of simplicity….our eyes closed to daytime distractions, our minds shut down for rest…. enter God, with an assignment to pray.

This work of God is a deep mystery; He alone knows the why behind the nudge to pray for another, the mystery behind His timing remains an unsolved puzzle to me…why the middle of the night?

“For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of EVIL IN THE HEAVENLY PLACES.” (Eph. 6:12).

At those times we receive a specific invitation to join Him in the battle.

Only a God of love would execute an operation on our behalf in the dead of a human night. He is our God and He fights FOR US NOT AGAINST US!!

Perhaps great battles are being waged as creation rests in stillness? Could this also mean that great battles are intended to be won from stillness?

Is this why we find easy routine in being busy?

Are we being lured away by its pace?

Is this why we are summoned on our beds of rest, where finally we have “stopped”?

I wonder…

“Continue steadfastly in prayer, being  watchful IN IT, with thanksgiving.”  (Col. 4:2)

Leave a Reply

