MY Heart…Arrogant?

As I sat on my back porch this beautiful morning, drinking that wonderful first cup of coffee, I read Proverbs chapter 16.

Verse five says: ” EVERYONE WHO is arrogant IN HEART is a stuck up pig….oops…nope, that’s not what it said…..start over; ” EVERYONE who is arrogant IN HEART is an abomination to the Lord; be assured he will not go unpunished.”

These words ran through my heart like a sword.

Arrogance: Webster’s dictionary defines it this way: “A sense of one’s own importance that shows itself in a proud and insulting way.”

Hmmm…wow I thought, that is sooo NOT me! What a horrible heart to have, no wonder the Lord is seriously displeased, how can His glory be seen from a heart consumed with arrogance?

My morning continued, which included a trip to the gym for my Pilates class.

Dang! A substitute teacher! O well, “maybe she’s good”,  I thought.

Dang again! She stopped the class every 3-5 minutes to PAINSTAKINGLY EXPLAIN EVERYTHING!! Arghhhh!! It was mental anguish for me!  I found myself tapping my foot, looking at the clock, and NOT following her very detailed instructions! I was getting more and more frustrated by the minute!  “I” had driven 15 minutes to attend a class to exercise my body not my ears!!  AND to top it all off it was stuff “I” already knew!!  I wanted to leave!! A young woman beside me looked at me and smiled, I rolled my eyes with indication that “I” was NOT pleased with the class.

OOPS….

UMMM…

The Holy Spirit reminded me of what I had read this morning:  enter CONVICTION….okay, so, either I choose repentance, because MY heart was clearly FULL of arrogance AND feeling justified about it, or I continue to foster this growing seed of sin.

Standing there at the back of the fitness room, in the dark, I repented; next came that dear old instructor…. literally touching my body to re-align me… apparently I was NOT performing the exercise correctly.  HA! So much for knowing everything.

So my point today?

“Therefore let anyone who thinks that he stands take heed lest he fall.” (I Cor. 10:12)

O how I welcome the piercing work of the Holy Spirit on a second by second basis! He reveals my need and desperation for Jesus always! I am TOAST without His beautiful, probing revelations of the deepest and dirtiest closets in my soul, of which I am discovering  have the finest layer of dust. Dust missed until it is revealed in my actions. OUCH…!

O “Wretched (woman) that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? THANKS be to God THROUGH Jesus Christ our Lord!” (Rom. 7:24)

HALLELUJAH! I am free, forgiven, and saved through Jesus Christ who gave His life for me; I can in these very ugly moments of my life  walk away immediately forgiven, with a heart set FREE from arrogance!

What about your life today? What dust is the Holy Spirit unsettling in your dark corner?

As I sat and read the Word this morning, God had begun His work of pressing in and revealing the seed of arrogance, giving truth to me about the condition of my heart; BUT I ran over the words like a horse in a race! GOD BEING GOD reined in the horse, fully aware of the condition of my heart!!  He was warning me, SO THAT I would deal with it BEFORE I left the house, instead I chose to read and run instead of read and meditate.  The result? A trained professional received haughty eyes and a naughty attitude!

I wonder if I could have completed the exercises wearing “the cone of shame”?

Leave a Reply

