The broken record

I can’t stop writing or musing about the Word of God! Absolutely everything I do, say, think, and encounter comes back to it’s simple but profound truth. It literally saturates my life like a wet blanket clinging to dry flesh.

Freedom to live with joy and peace emerges like smoke from under a closed door, permeating my living space of every moment, kissing me with crazy desire to know and understand the Word more fully, to connect the dots of God’s truth, so that I may KNOW Him who offers me this free gift of life and transforming love.

The Word holds power to transform EVERY life in EVERY way!

As part of my daily study I read through the Psalms. I am currently studying my way through Psalm 119.

“If Your law had not been MY DELIGHT, I would have perished in my affliction” (vs. 92).

“Oh how I love Your law! It is my MEDITATION ALL the day” (vs. 97).

“I have understanding more than all my teachers, for Your testimonies ARE my MEDITATION” (vs. 99).

“How SWEET are YOUR WORDS to my taste, SWEETER than honey to my mouth!” (vs. 103).

“YOUR WORD is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path” (vs. 104).

“Your testimonies ARE MY HERITAGE FOREVER; for they are the JOY OF MY HEART” (vs.111).

Over and over through this entire Psalm the Word is lifted up as the source of life in every way. It leads me to the New Testament:  

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the WORD WAS GOD. He was in the beginning with God” (Jn. 1:1-2).

So let me ask you, when we speak of the Word of God, WHO are we speaking of? We are not speaking of words, we are speaking of SOMEONE. THIS is why the Word of God holds POWER to change a life.

Listen to this:

“The Word BECAME FLESH and made His dwelling AMONG US. We have seen His glory, the glory of the One and Only, who CAME FROM THE FATHER, full of grace and truth” (John 1:14).

And WHO is this? It is Jesus!

Is this why the Word of God be described as “living”?

“For the word of God IS LIVING and ACTIVE, sharper than ANY two-edged sword, PIERCING to the division of soul and spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart” (Heb.4:12).

The Holy Trinity speaks of three persons represented by One. Jesus Christ is God’s speaking voice TO US. We hold all those words (aka, the Bible) in our hands every day and yet we refuse to embrace them as “Jesus”.

Why I wonder….

I have a sense in my spirit that time is running out for all of us; I have a sense of urgency for the Bride of Christ (the church) to become ALIVE in the incarnate life of Christ through what we hold in our hands (the Word of God) and through the power of the resurrected life of Jesus Christ who LIVES IN us. A sense of urgency to stop farting (sorry if that word offends you, but its implication is “full of stinking hot air”) around with minds that refuse to embrace truth for what IT IS…..”LIVING AND ACTIVE”….

How much more time will pass as we trudge through life like modern-day zombies? Really, seriously…..think about this…

Read dear ones read! Read the Word of God! Read with expectation to know and understand these LIFE GIVING “words” from the Father’s heart. Learn to fully TRUST Him with your life; learn more and more and more of WHO GOD IS, and WHO HE IS NOT. Hear the voice of the Lord, can you not hear His heart of love for you, calling you through every page? He is the sweetest wine, the purest water.

The word itself says of itself that it is “sweeter than honey to (our) mouths.”

When is the last time you ate and drank from this banquet table?

A broken record plays at this table; over and over and over and over again its repetitive voice calls out….”COME”….

Leave a Reply

