a nasty dream..

I awoke this day to a schedule that carried two commitments; both commitments resulted in cancellation. So here I sit at my computer having submitted an empty day back into the hands of the Lord with a request of Him to know how to govern my free time with wisdom.

What comes to mind as I sit here staring at my computer screen is the nasty dream I had three nights ago; a vivid one of the enemy gaining entrance into our home. I stood there beside the open staircase watching him; his massive, distorted head made its way up the first flight of stairs…..I tried to call out the name of Jesus, but something was restricting my voice from being heard. In my dream I tried and tried to shout out Jesus’ name, but like tangled seaweed, my vocal chords had no movement…..until finally I managed a hoarse whisper, “JESUS CHRIST”!  immediately the beast was gone from our home.

How strange a dream.

Just plain weird.

But it haunted me a little.

Why?

The last few days I have been experiencing a crazy battle of condemnation; so persistent and silent these accusers have come against my mouth and its words that I have been tempted  to take vows of silence to eliminate possibility of being found guilty of words ill-spoken.

I have been studying the book of Romans;  today I read Romans 8; The first verse in this chapter states that “There is therefore now NO CONDEMNATION for those who are in Christ Jesus.”

hmmm….NO condemnation…whose voice was I listening to?

Corrie Ten Boom in her book “Tramp For The Lord” spoke of the “Ding-Dong Principle”. I quote from page 179 of her book:

“In Holland we have many churches with belfries. The bells in the steeples are rung by hand, with a rope that is pulled from the vestibule of the church….. After the sexton lets go of the rope, the bell keeps swinging. First DING then DONG. Slower and slower until there’s a final DONG and it stops….I believe the same thing is true…of when sin is confessed and renounced, Satan’s hand is removed from the rope. But if we worry about our past bondage, Satan will use this opportunity to keep the echoes ringing in our minds…you should not worry about the DINGS and the DONGS, they are nothing but echoes….Demons seldom leave without leaving behind their vibrations–DINGS and DONGS. It is as though they give the clapper one big swing on the way out, scaring us into thinking they are still there. They know that, even though they have to flee at the Name of Jesus, if we grow fearful over the remaining echoes, other demons can come and take their place.”

I am not writing  about demon-theology today, but I am writing about the very real battle that we fight on a daily basis… “For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual FORCES OF EVIL in the heavenly places.” (Eph. 6:12)

For me, the voice of condemnation are the DINGS and DONGS that ring in my head. This is the voice of the enemy to shut me up and keep me from speaking of the One my soul loves.

The dream most likely reflected what I have been fighting against.

It also speaks to the fear of man’s opinion as well, of which I thought I was free from…apparently I am listening to the bell-ringer and not to the voice of Jesus!

“For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were STILL TRYING to please man, I would NOT be a SERVANT OF CHRIST!” (Gal. 1:10)

“The fear of man LAYS A SNARE, but whoever trusts in THE LORD is SAFE!” (Prov. 29:25) 

What DING and DONG is distracting you from truth today? Where did you open the door to the prince of darkness? Follow the trail backward and identify the root of thought that began the noise in your heart and mind.

We must be “on our guard” CONSTANTLY! Read 1Peter 5:8

I believe every one of us have a weakness to a particular “lie” that comes up against our mind. A lie that if left unchecked and unrepented of will open the door wider to the dominion of darkness, hurling us to the ground in an eventual battle of emotion.

I believe that TRUTH MUST ALWAYS be the engine of our thought train.

For what it’s worth today, do a security check of the alarm system of your heart and mind; ask the Holy Spirit to illumine any shadows lurking and deal with them immediately in Jesus great Name.

This battle has already BEEN WON for us!!

What great news again today, and a reminder to remain ever vigilant in this ongoing epic battle we are a part of.

If only I could literally SEE  it…….

Leave a Reply

