“Six Impossible Things Before Breakfast!”

One of my favorite scenes from the newer version of the movie “Alice in Wonderland” is when actor Johnny Depp is explaining to Alice that she has “lost her muchness”, he reminds her that she used to think of “six impossible things before breakfast.”

I took in this great fantasy movie from a tiny airplane screen two or three years ago.

I remember losing myself in the make-believe world of Alice and wondering if I had lost my “muchness” as well! It led me to wondering about the last time I had dreamed or thought or even prayed for something “impossible”.

I LOVE the word “impossible”!!

Webster’s Dictionary defines this word: “INCAPABLE of being or occurring”; “hopeless”.

What a great word!!

It is FULL of marvelous possibilities of what cannot happen naturally.

Enter God…

Amazing, Almighty, powerful, majestic, perfect, delighter of impossible scenarios, and holy God.

He is my God.

And He woke me up at four a.m. this morning to pray.

I crawled out of bed at FIVE a.m., put on my house coat and moved like a snail downstairs to my coffee pot.

 NO ONE should be out of bed at five a.m! Apparently I was, apparently impossible things happen!

AND before breakfast.

As I entered my living room I caught a reflection of snow-covered mountains in the glass of the large picture hanging above my sofa, I turned to look out the window to make sure I was making an accurate observation.

My heart literally leaped within me! Descriptive words of God moved through my soul and mind like a river in springtime! 

 The mountains stood looming with a voice of quiet power.

The sight was nothing short of GLORIOUS! Even as I type these words my flesh is choking back emotion from what felt like a kiss from heaven; so intimate, so far-reaching, deep reaching and satisfying in the most peculiar way.

Impossible?

I don’t think so.

I opened my bible and began to read the many verses  using the word “impossible”.

In Genesis chapter 18 God is promising Abraham that his wife Sarah will conceive a child though she is old, (old, old, old). Sarah laughs at the craziness of the God-scenario; God hears her and responds with these words in verse 14: “Is anything too hard for the Lord?”

In Job chapter 42,  Job is having a confession and repentance time before God and he says to God in verse two: ” I know that You can do ALL things, and that NO purpose of YOURS can be thwarted’.

In the book of Matthew one of the many miracles Jesus performed is recorded. In Chapter 17, verses 14-20… Jesus rebuked a demon out of a young boy’s life after his disciples failed to do so themselves. The disciples privately ask Jesus why they could not do what he had done. Jesus’ response?..”BECAUSE OF your little faith. For truly, I say to you, if you have faith like a grain of mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘move from here to there,’ and IT WILL MOVE, and NOTHING will be impossible for you.”

In the book of Luke, Jesus is speaking to His disciples about the difficulty of a rich man entering the kingdom of heaven. The disciples are “astonished” over this truth, but Jesus’ response is (18:27) :”What is impossible with man is possible with God.”

In the book of Luke 1:37 we read of the most beautiful impossibilities of our faith; the angel of the Lord is proclaiming to Mary (a young virgin) that she will be the mother of the Son of the Most high, and that her OLD relative Elizabeth is also expecting a child, he encourages her with these words: “For NOTHING will be impossible with God.”

And what about these words of Jesus:”Truly, truly I say to you, WHOEVER believes in me will also do the works that I do; and GREATER works than these will he do, BECAUSE I am going to the Father. Whatever you ask in my name, this will I do, THAT THE FATHER MAY BE GLORIFIED IN THE SON. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it” (John 14:12-14).

What if the “greater things” were the “impossible” things?

Have  we lost our “muchness” (our grain of faith)?

Something is stirring within my heart! I want to believe that impossible things can be made possible through the life of Jesus living within me.

I want to stand before a mighty mountain and believe that if I asked the Father for it to move, that it would indeed be picked up and moved. 

I know that God is not my magical play thing. He is almighty God who desires for me to know Him and to make Him known. He is El KANNA: “I am Jealous”; therefore the impossible things serve only one purpose: To make HIM known, to exalt Him as God of the entire universe.

May He be my “muchness”.

May I dream again of IMPOSSIBLE things so that He would shine as a “city on a hill” through my life.

May I have the faith, wonder and humility of a small child to ASK.

……..

What about you “Alice”?

Leave a Reply

