Are You Breathing??

“Let everything that has BREATH praise the Lord!” (Psalm 150:6)

When was the last time you PRAISED God?

When was the last time your heart carried more praise than burden?

When is the last time you “stilled and quieted” your soul from asking of God and instead gave of yourself to Him, offering all that you are as an instrument of thanksgiving and praise?

…..hmmm

“His delight is not in the strength of the horse, nor His pleasure in the legs of man, but the Lord takes DELIGHT in those who fear Him, in those who hope in HIS steadfast love.” (Psalm 147:10-11)

GOD delights in US…THAT is crazy truth!

The word “delight” speaks of great attention and love the Father gives to me each and every day. Attention and love that I can so quickly miss because of narrow focused prayers; prayers of constant asking; Prayers that contain little or no thanksgiving; Prayers that hold little acknowledgement of WHO we seek audience.

Sometimes my heart is full of adoration and praise as I stand before Him…sometimes I am overwhelmed with deep awe; sometimes I enter into a place of such sweet wonder it leaves me without words and breath. It is as though everything falls under a blanket of silence and all I can see are ribbons of white caught up with the breath of heaven; they move around my body as though to lift my feet away from cemented burden and carry me to a place of deep peace; I become fully aware of Whose presence I am in.

How can I stop from praising Him?

O what will heaven be like?

“The angel showed me the river of the water of life, bright as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb through the middle of the street of the city; also, on either side of the river, the tree of life with its twelve kinds of fruit, yielding its fruit each month. The leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations. No longer will there be anything accursed, but the throne of God and of the Lamb will be in it, and His servants WILL WORSHIP HIM. They will SEE HIS FACE, and His name will be on their foreheads. And night will be no more. They will need no light of lamp or sun, for the Lord God will be their light, and they will reign forever and ever.” (Revelation 22:1-5) 

The last few months of my life I have been asking God to lead me into a deeper understanding of WHO He is. The answers that have come have led me to a “far country”. A place of knowing that this God that I have surrendered my life to is beyond comprehension; He a “CONSUMING fire” (Heb.12:29); He is HOLY (Is. 6:2), and He desires my worship.

Every encounter of praising the Lord, leaves me with greater desire to know Him more fully.

Perhaps that is WHY we are instructed to praise HIM.

One day… one day… those of us who have handed the keys of their lives over to Jesus, will stand beside (or maybe stand IN?) the “crystal clear” river of  life FULL of instinctual praise.

So many, many times I have imagined the first time my eyes will see my heavenly Father. All the “knowing” that I imagine that will pass between our eyes. The “knowing” of EVERY moment of my life having taken place under His watchful, loving eye; the “knowing” of everything I gave voice to before Him during my earthly life, and the love I know that I will taste, and see and touch, O my heart!

Are you breathing? 

“EVERYTHING that has breath, PRAISE THE LORD!”

Leave a Reply

