The Ho-Hum Soul..

“Preserve me, O God, for in you I take refuge. I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord; I have NO GOOD APART FROM YOU.” (Psalm 16:1-2)

“Whom have I in heaven but you? And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but GOD is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” (Psalm 73:25-26)

“But for me it is good to be near God; I have made the Lord God my refuge, that I may tell of all your works.” (Psalm 73:28)

Do you ever walk through a few “Ho-Hum” days before an internal alarm goes off and you realize  that you have become dulled, or sleepy towards the Spirit of God? Life loses it’s edge and you”re walking like a zombie headed no where?

It should no longer surprise me that complacency grows like mold: slow and infectious, creeping along into unprotected areas, covering a surface with dull and lifeless paint.

“Preserve me O God”…put me in a canning jar and protect my heart and mind from wandering off again and again! This imagery reminds me of words from an old hymn; ” Proned to leave the God I love; here’s my heart, O take and seal it, seal it for Thy courts above.”

Does this describe your life today? Kind of “Ho-Hummish?”

 Take heart dear soul, God places the welcome mat out for the “Ho-Hum” soul returning home.

Do not despair in your complacency, or waste time swimming in frustration and self-condemnation, rather return to the One who promises to never leave us or forsake us. (Hebrews 13:5)

I believe God gave us a wonderful gift through the nation of Israel; if you have read the Word of God you will know what I am referring to.

The Israelites were always wandering away from God’s instructions; I think they became a “Ho-Hum” people. Did God call them back to Himself? And did He forgivethem? Were they given a re-start? Yes, yes and yes! As much as they had become kings and queens of wandering, God proved himself to be a Lover in pursuit even more-so.

Listen to these words from the book of Joel:’ “Yet even now,” declares the Lord, RETURN to me with ALL YOUR HEART, with fasting, with weeping, and with mourning; and rend your hearts and not your garments.” Return to the Lord your God, for He IS GRACIOUS and MERCIFUL, SLOW to anger, and ABOUNDING in STEADFAST love; …’ (Joel 2:12-14)

If God does not change (Mal.3:6) and the Word of God is living and active (Heb. 4:12) then is it not safe to assume that the above words Joel wrote to the nation of Israel about their returning to God is true for our lives as well? YES, absolutely! 

I end where I began today; “PRESERVE  ME, O God, for in you I take refuge. I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord; I HAVE NO GOOD THING APART FROM YOU.” (Psalm 16:1-2)

Perhaps this verse explains why King David was good at returning, HE KNEW that in GOD he had everything GOOD.

Do you KNOW this truth today? Do I know this truth today? This truth is what “preserves me”  and “preserves” you….it keeps us, draws us, leads us away from having a wandering soul; preservation comes AS we TAKE refuge, AS WE REMEMBER whose we are, and remember that we are desired by the One who created us.

“Therefore, stay AWAKE, for you do not know on what day your Lord is coming.” (Matt. 24:42)

Do not become ho-hummy; stay awake, alert, and alive to the Lord!

If you love music you might want to look up “Awakening” by Hillsong United (from album “Aftermath”)

Leave a Reply

