Fear!!

Fear!

What a multi-layered, far-reaching, complex subject this is; definitely too many words for one blog!

I prefer to start with transformational words.

“The Lord is my light and my salvation; WHOM shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; OF WHOM shall I be afraid?

THOUGH an ARMY encamp AGAINST me, my heart shall not fear, though war rise AGAINST me, yet I WILL BE CONFIDENT.” (Psalm 27:1&3)

“I will not be afraid of many thousands of people who have SET THEMSELVES AGAINST me all around.” (Psalm 3:6)

“For am I now SEEKING the approval of man. or of God? Or am I TRYING to PLEASE MAN? If I were still trying to please man, I would NOT be a servant of Christ.” (Gal. 1:10)

Are any of you consumed by fear of another man’s opinion today? Or another’s bossy words,  cruel judgement, gossip or control?

This kind of fear, if found to be resident in our hearts and minds can and will render us void and useless in life.

Are you aware of how many times a day you stop to consider what someone might think of you “if”?

Are you aware of the power and control you give to someone when you allow them to cast shadow upon your  mind and heart with veils of fear?

Are you aware of the eye of the storm that you choose to live in as a result? (and no, it is far from calm, you are caught in the middle while the storm rages out of control around you).

It is as Paul said, if you live like this you cannot be a servant of Christ. You will live like you are wrapped in a blanket of chains.

Does this describe you today?

Are you like a cowardly soldier hiding in the dug out?

“The Lord is my helper; I will not fear; what can man do to me?” (Heb. 13:6)

“I am He who comforts you; who are you that you  are afraid of man WHO DIES, of the son of man WHO IS MADE LIKE GRASS..(Is. 51:12)

God created EACH of us!!  WHY then do we fear the opinions and statements of fellow “humans” who are no different from who we are? We need reminding that “ALL HAVE SINNED  and fallen SHORT of the glory of God.” (Rom. 3:23) ?

We ALL stand at the foot of the SAME cross, there are no levels, there are no favorites.

Why are we holding back out of fear of what another might say or do?

You alone must live your life, no one else will live it for you!

These are simplistic words in relation to the power of the  bondage of “man fears”.  MANY live from this place day in and day out….how exhausting!!

 It is not my intent to simplify a very great and very real fear; God knows the time I have WASTED living from within those prison walls! Only TRUTH will set a mind free from that haunting place; only truth that is LIVED OUT will  release a life from what I now see as a ridiculous fear.

Think about it…WHY would we care about another’s disapproval when we KNOW that in the end as we stand before God, we will stand ALONE!  No other voice but our own to render account  for our life lived on earth.

Why would I spend my life worrying (fearing) about what others may or may not think of me in regards to who I am? That would be their problem to bear, not mine…maybe God has chosen my quirks to be their character development, and vise versa.

“The fear of man lays a snare..” (Prov.29:25)

“and do not fear those who kill the body but CANNOT kill the soul. ( see Matt. 10:26-33)

“For God gave us a spirit NOT OF FEAR but of POWER and LOVE and SELF-CONTROL.” (2 Tim. 1:7)

…..

JESUS left us these words of truth: “PEACE (peace, peace, peace!!!!) I LEAVE WITH YOU. NOT as the world gives do I give you. LET NOT your hearts be troubled, neither LET THEM BE AFRAID.” (JN. 14: 27).

“Neither LET them”…that word “let” implies a form of permission from our will.

What will you “let” into that heart of yours? Peace or fear? It really is up to YOU!

When will you start living in freedom from man’s opinion?

And what is man? Scripture likens us to “grass” (read psalm 103:14-16).

So get on with living YOUR life, DO NOT FEAR MAN.

 What is YOUR opinion? Perhaps it is time to use your own brain?

Leave a Reply

