OPEN YOUR EYES!

I sometimes wonder how those who are blind among us can see more than those of us who have been given sight!?

I have heard that with the loss of one of our five senses the other four will kick into a gear of higher intensity.

True?

I wonder…

And then I reflected some more…

How differently would I live if my MIND was fully present in every one of my five senses? (Sight, sound, taste, touch and smell).

What would I experience of God if I learned this discipline?

These thoughts emerge as I have studied my way through the book of Exodus.

Exodus is my favorite book in the Bible. It is a book of deep complexities and yet obvious simple truths about the character of God. I have gleaned much from this great book about who God is and who He is not.

In chapter three we read the story of the Burning Bush.

I was led into discovery of a new truth through this old classic story. First it was highlighted to me that it was “the ANGEL of the Lord that APPEARED to him IN THE FLAME of the fire out of the midst of the bush” (Verse 2).

Secondly, Moses LOOKED; and as he “looked”, his curiosity was spiked because he could see the bush was not consumed by flame (verse 2).

Thirdly, Moses made a critical life altering decision, in verse three we read of it, “I WILL TURN ASIDE TO SEE this great sight, WHY the bush is not burned.” (I think Moses had a little Nancy Drew in his blood!).

Fourth, “WHEN the Lord saw that he (Moses) TURNED ASIDE TO SEE, God called to him out of the bush” (verse 4).

God appealed to His created curiosity within Moses! What if Moses had not “turned aside”? What if he had continued on with his work and missed the weird science? What if Moses mind had not been engaged with his eyesight? What method would God have used then to capture his attention?

I wonder…

How about you?

Are your eyes wide open? When is the last time you consented to the child within and “turned aside to see?”

Can you hear the word’s of Jesus reflected in this story? “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like LITTLE children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven, whoever HUMBLES HIMSELF like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven” (Matt. 18:3-4). The context of Jesus’ words here are in response to the disciples’ desire to know who would be the “greatest in heaven”; Jesus was teaching on humility and of living a life reflective of His life. But why use the child as an illustration? Why teach on behavior reflective  of a small child?

Do you ever wonder if the secrets and mysteries of the “Kingdom of heaven” lay answered through the curious, simple, humble faith of a small child? The senses of small children live awakened and alive to details that are life-giving and insightful. Small children don’t spend copious amounts of time thinking about themselves, they are too busy on missions of discovery.

Was Moses so humbled by his sin and made little by its broken, haunting secret (he was a murderer remember? Ex. 2:11-15) , that his soul stood ripe to be appealed to by child-like curiosity?

I am not suggesting anyone commit murder to discover a child-like heart. Perhaps the first step is simply to take a little soul inventory around our senses.

Are you ready to “turn aside to see” ?

Marry your mind to your senses and discover a life of wonder!

Leave a Reply

