Are You Skilled?

I am studying my way through Exodus again, and as usual there is always fresh bread regardless of how many times I have read my way through this fabulous book.

In chapter 28 God is “detailing”  the Priest’s garments that are to be worn in the Tabernacle. What caught the ear of my heart was WHO God requested to make the priestly garments.

Verse 3 reads: (God speaking),”And you shall make holy garments for Aaron your brother, for GLORY and for BEAUTY. You shall speak to all the SKILLFUL, whom I have FILLED with a spirit of SKILL, that they make Aaron’s garments to consecrate him for my priesthood.”

Matthew Henry’s Commentary expounds on this verse: “..The BEST artists (were) employed in the making of them (the priestly garments) , whose skill God, by a SPECIAL GIFT for this purpose, would improve by a very high degree, v. 3. Note, Eminence, even in common arts, is a gift of God, it comes from Him, and, as there is occasion, it ought to be used for Him.”

 This leads me to some wondering…

What skill has God given you and how are you challenging  yourself to become SKILLED? (in case you’re wondering I am asking myself the same question!).

If God has given you a skill, you have been given responsibility not only to use it but also to become good at it!

In my opinion, I think there are too many “pew sitters” who think it is a “holy” miracle to use their skill (talent, gift) WITHOUT excellence. There has been implied church teaching  for years (mostly by cranky, misplaced people) telling us that to be skilled or eminent means that you could be proud, or worse yet, guilty of self-glory! 

Play it safe saint! Suck at what you do for God, and guarantee your integrity and “holiness” and a place of honor among the humble! 

We create or own epidemic of fearful, cowardly believers who sit..

and sit..

and sit.

Volunteer anyone? AH no, I’m not “good enough”, “I can’t”, “I’m not as good as so and so”, “it’s safe here in my padded pew.”; ” Oh, by the way, does my bottom look like it’s widening to you?”  

Hmmm, should I answer that? Yes, I’d say your bottom just may be taking up the seat beside you with contagious stench…Why just look at you, rotting there in your cozy pew, your skills becoming waste in your hands!

Okay, I know I am playing hard ball…BUT..

Why are we so afraid of being SKILLED?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How attractive would the gospel of Jesus be if the church CARED about serving God with our BEST Instead of a half cheek job? What if  we LIVED lives of courage to grow and change and become the BEAUTIFUL bride God desires us to be?

…..

It is near impossible to emerge from reading Exodus 25-31, and chapters 35-40 without concluding  that God is a God of DETAIL! Details, details, details!! Details that REQUIRE EXCELLENCE, FOR THE PURPOSE OF BEAUTY and glory TO HIM!

Listen to this, (I just have to write this scripture out it is so amazing to me!): “Then Moses said to the people of Israel, “see the Lord has called you BY NAME Bezalel the son of Uri, son of Hur, of the tribe of Judah; and He has FILLED him with the Spirit of God, with SKILL. with intelligence, with knowledge, and with ALL craftsmanship (boy, much was required of that dude!), to DEVISE artistic designs, to work in gold and silver and bronze, in cutting stones for setting, and in carving wood, for work in EVERY SKILLED CRAFT. And He INSPIRED him to teach, both him and Oholiab the son of Ahisamach of the tribe of Dan. He has FILLED them with SKILL to do EVERY SORT OF WORK done by an engraver or by a designer or by an embroiderer in blue and purple and scarlet yarns and fined twined linen, or by a weaver-by any sort of workman or skilled designer.” (Exodus 35:30-35).

WOW!! The Word of God tells me that He has not changed, this truth applied against itself means that He is TODAY for me who He was in the above scripture…(did you get that? See Mal. 3:6; Nm. 23:19; Jas. 1:17) This means we can trust God to fill us with all manner of SKILL today!

Think about what this could mean for the Bride of Christ! Think about what this would mean for us in relationship, in our homes, in the marketplace/businesses!

Perhaps our joy and our strength would be a fragrant aroma if our skills were imprints and handprints and images of our Holy God par excellence (note: I am not implying perfection.)

So how ’bout it?,

When is the last time you asked God to bless the skill He has given you?

Do you believe that He will be lifted up and “mirrored” as a result of HOW you use your skill?

How are you stewarding your skill?

Enjoy your skill! Practise, learn and celebrate it!

Your Creator GAVE it to YOU for a specific purpose!

….

Don’t be a pew potato, get in the game…

 

Leave a Reply

