Fifty Shades of Shadows..

Shadows.

Webster’s Dictionary defines this word for me today: “a reflected image; the dark figure cast on a surface by a body that is between the surface and the light: PHANTOM”

I am perplexed by the recent cultural phenomena stirred by the book “Fifty Shades of Grey” (and it’s series).

More copies have been sold than Harry Potter…

A book designed to appeal to women…

A book of enticement…

Of seduction…

Of secret living…

Fantasy discovered and encountered from a place of hiding, shadow and darkness….

So I’ve been told.

Some 40 million copies sold?

Do these numbers reflect 40 million women?

I confess I have not read these books; I have read the back cover and the words I found there were enough to convince me that the book’s contents held no appeal or representation of my own deepest desires.

I count only as one woman.

What is it about this book that is causing such a lustful stir?

I’ve heard that some women are hiding in closets as they read its’ pages.

WHY?

WHAT does this book give to them, WHAT does it reveal about the heart and desire of a woman?

Does this book represent the kind of woman a man wants to hold for a lifetime?

I am honestly asking these questions, I do not propose to have answers, nor am I standing behind a podium with a thumping fist landing on a large black bible.

The sexual woman represents a small portion of day-to-day life; life as we live it consists of far more than 24/7 sexual encounters…eventually a phantom emerges….eventually the emotions will reveal the heart…..

and then what?

Who then does a woman become?

Herself?

Is this what women desire to be known by? Do women desire this kind of reputation?

Really?

Our gender is becoming defined by a shadow.

A PHANTOM.

A sexual phantom.

She is powerful

and alluring

and almost always wins…

but I believe when she retreats into her own closet, into the deepest part of her heart, she is confronted by longings that cannot be satisfied, nor fulfilled by her sexual power.

I can’t help but wonder if really, truly she is a lonely little girl longing to be cherished.

A child princess whose beauty passed unnoticed.

Or maybe she has been taught to hate men; to hate them for what they represent, their strength, maybe even their leadership, maybe men have become prey, an object to overpower and bring to their knees in their place of greatest weakness?

Maybe this is some kind of distorted game?

Or maybe too many women have been wounded? 

In closing off today I am thinking of the story of the woman at the well in John chapter 4.

A woman who had five husbands and was currently living with man number six when Jesus came to her.

I love that Jesus did not come with blazing saddles and guns, but rather from a place of gentleness and kind questions….He was the perfect counsellor, He knew how to ask the right question for her to uncover her own heart to Him.

He did not condemn, nor accuse, He came to rescue her, to reveal Himself as the only one who WOULD and could satisfy her longing searching heart.

Read the story.

Jesus is no phantom, He is not a shadow, He is the only true Lover of our desperate, needy souls.

HIS words speak to me today in my perplexing pot of wondering: “Everyone who drinks of this water (speaking of water from an earthly well) WILL BE THIRSTY AGAIN, but WHOEVER drinks of the water that I WILL GIVE HIM (her) will NEVER be thirsty again. The water I give him(her) will become in him (her) a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” (John 4:13-14)

What if the “Fifty Shades of Grey” could be redeemed to define the colours of the stone around the well of Living Water, what if  fifty shades of grey became fifty shades of vibrant colour representing the LIFE of a woman truly loved and fully alive in who she was created to be?

“Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a WOMAN who fears the Lord is to be praised.” (Prov. 31:30)

Leave a Reply

