A Nation Taking the Low Road

Never have we needed to have faith in God like we do in this present day.

The North American population is increasingly becoming a nation with no moral compass or guideposts; youth are rising up out of broken homes with a new definition of marriage; media has become a god; acquiring fame has greater personal value than character development; attitudes are smeared with disrespect towards those in authority; addictions are the norm, and gender is defined by “neutral” while modern science creates options to become a different sex.

The very recent election held popularity with a younger demographic of people; would that have had anything to do with what the elected leader represents to them? Will he choose popularity with the young and fickle over strong leadership based on the nations principles?

If I spin the probable scenario out, my mind goes bonkers and my heart rate goes up; But if I move my way into scripture, into truth that I trust completely and wholeheartedly, truth that will never rise and fall with a nation’s ‘back roading’, I discover peace waiting for me.

I read John 14:12-14……..

“Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father. Whatever you ask in my name, this will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. IF you ask me anything in MY NAME, I will do it.”

and I read Romans 4:18-21 (speaking of Abraham becoming the “father of many nations”)

“In hope he believed against hope that he should become the father of many nations, as he had been told, “so shall your offspring be.” He did not weaken in faith when he considered his own body, which was as good as dead (since he was about a hundred years old), or when he considered the barrenness of Sarah’s womb. No unbelief made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith as he gave glory to God, FULLY CONVINCED that God was able to do what He promised.”

Where is our faith?

What is it based on?

Upon whom is it resting?

God has not changed, He is still on the Throne, and His promises are just that……His promises. We can and we must fully trust that He is able to do the greater things through us! Jesus said it would be so.

If I chose to focus upon culture and government, unbelief could make me waver. I choose instead to place my faith in God who remains sovereign, who has promised He will never change.

But what has changed and what scares me even more than what I have just written, is our unbelief as a church “culture”.

Perhaps that is why Church and State travel different roads in 2012. I see a larger demographic of churches not being churches, they are staggering and struggling from unbelief.

How would we influence world leaders if our faith could move mountains? How would our lives influence culture if we lived out our faith instead of simply acknowledging its existence? And what if we prayed “without ceasing” for our government leaders, for our nation, for the influences of culture to change? What if every “Jesus follower” decided to follow Jesus? What if we stopped grumbling, debating, whining, complaining and gossiping about all the issues and became diligent about being part of the solution?

….

One last thought…

Dear old Billy Graham, a man of impeccable reputation, a leader of integrity, of strong principles, a man who knew and lived the Word of God, a man who travelled the world preaching Jesus and who lived the gospel before nations,  a leader that presidents sought audience with….

Tell me, who will take his place?

The power of God displayed through a life of faith.

As was written of Abraham, “no unbelief made him waver”…he was “fully convinced that God was able to do what He had promised.”

Could this be said of my life?

Could this be said of yours?

Here’s to the doing of “greater things.” We the church MUST change if ‘State’ is to be influenced and culture saved.

Now to Him WHO IS ABLE to do FAR MORE ABUNDANTLY than ALL we ASK or think, according to the POWER at work WITHIN US, to HIM be glory in the CHURCH and in CHRIST JESUS throughout ALL generations, forever and ever. Amen.” (Eph. 3:20)

“Righteousness exalts a nation, but sin is a reproach to any people.” (Prov.14:34)

Amen and Amen…

Leave a Reply

