Rock of Ages

The tree beckoned my glance. It stood there grand with height and stature…

and without accompaniment of forest.

Its voice could be heard in the stillness, beckoning my heart to embrace its imagery.

Imagery needed to breathe life into my artist soul.

A theme emerges as constant as a new morning.

The tree has taken a stance of strength like a lone soldier standing in a barren field of death and smoke and blood.

The tree has given reminders of God’s faithfulness and strength and steadfast arms of welcome.

God’s voice is heard; “stand tall, be strong, I am your Creator.”

I call to mind God’s written truth: ” My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever” (Psalm 73:26).

The word “strength” in Hebrew means “rock”, if I substitute the Hebrew word in the above verse it reads, “but God is the rock of my heart and my portion forever.”

The imagery of a large single tree is like that of a rock to me.

Steady, unmoving, constant….

“The righteous flourish like the palm tree and grow like a cedar in Lebanon. They are planted in the house of the Lord; they flourish in the courts of our God. They still bear fruit in old age; they are ever full of sap and green, to declare that the Lord is upright; He is my rock….” (Psalm 92:12-15).

The winds may blow, the storm be great, but a soul anchored to the Rock of Ages shall not be moved. It will be a soul of steadiness, strength and of standing tall.

Life becomes life as we discover God as the “Rock” of our soul.

It is truth that demands repetition in our changing hearts of flesh.

