My Body

As the dance of words begin today I am listening to Jesus Cultures, “Show Me Your Glory”. The words of this song envelop me, lifting my eyes to God and wrecking my heart with awe.

Why is it so hard to express what my body encounters from this place of yielding?

The apostle Paul asked a question in 1Cor.6:19, “do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So GLORIFY God in your body..”

“Glorify God in my body”…

I hear and see beauty through these words. My body of flesh, though marked by brokenness, is a temple of dwelling for God.

I love Matthew Henry’s study on this verse, “This is the proper notion of a temple-a place where God dwells, and sacred to His use, by His own claim and His creature’s surrender…the inference is plain that hence we are not our own…our bodies were made FOR God (italics mine), they were purchased for Him…the temple of the Holy Ghost must be kept holy.”

How could it be that my Creator would desire to use my body to indwell? For His glory? My life, this piece of broken pottery, a home for the God of the universe?  As I write these words I hear Kim Walker’s lyrics (from song mentioned above), “Show me your glory Jesus… I long to look on the face of the One that I love, long to stay in your presence is where I belong….I belong to You, I belong to You , I belong to You, my love.”

Isaiah writes in chapter 43:1; “But now, thus says the Lord, He who created you, O Jacob, (O Karolyn)  He who formed you, O Israel (O Karolyn): fear not for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are  MINE.”

Is it possible we have missed the intimacy of this dance with the Divine? God who speaks through His word, scribing that my body is His temple, His dwelling. God who speaks to tell me through ancient biblical history that He is a God that calls me His own? …”You are mine”..

Today as I surrender my body again,  I call to mind that God is a consuming fire (Heb. 12:29). He will consume with fire every trace of ungodliness, calling it forward to rid my life of its weight and bondage.

I step towards Him without fear, I desire the fire from His furnace of purity, I crave it; whatever it costs me I will jump into it. For to me, to refuse God, would be to refuse freedom. 

My body is His, I am His.

Today this offers eternal comfort and I find myself speaking out the apostle Paul’s words, “For to me to LIVE is CHRIST, and to die is gain.” (Phil. 1:21)

My body dances because of who lives within me, the One my soul loves.

