A Leaf Unwithered

I stood there waiting for my oatmeal to cook.

Not near the stove as you would expect, but rather by my glassed patio door just a few feet away from my boiling pot of breakfast food.

All was quiet and still.

The grassy hill my eyes settled upon was covered with what looked like icing sugar….snow had fallen in the night.

A veil of white had fallen over multiple shades of brown.

There was no evidence of vibrant life or colour, only visuals of barrenness and sleep.

The hill could not tell me today that beneath its frozen crust lay multiple seeds of Lupins waiting for the sun and rains of spring to colour the hillside in an array of the colour purple.

I recalled the scene of extravagant splendor when one morning late last spring I stood by the same door in awe of this blanket of colour.

I stood there reflecting upon how wildly different those two scenes were from each other. Had I not seen the one I would have no evidence of the other. Both were necessary, both were needed, both were created beautiful…. however, apart from the obvious cycle of seasons, if the barren hillside was my forever window scene, it would most obviously speak of lifelessness.

I reflected upon the Words of God I had read earlier in Psalm one. The psalmist was contrasting the life that walked and listened to the counsel of ungodly men (and women I might add) as opposed to the life that found delight in the words of God, and who meditated day and night upon those words.

The psalmist continues with a lesson from nature. For the life that delights and digests the Word, “he (she) will be like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in season, and its leaf DOES NOT WITHER, in all he (she) does, he(she) prospers. THE WICKED ARE NOT SO, but are like chaff that the wind drives away” (verses 3-4).

In other words, and with a different perspective and conclusion from my sleeping hill; a life that chooses to live separate from the Words of God (His promises) will prove to be a life that lays sleeping and dead, with no hope of true life from beneath, but a life that chooses to see and live life through the Word of God is a life that produces evidence of colour in every season walked…even in our winters.

This reminds of me the parable of the Sower Eplained

Hear the parable of the sower, (teaches Jesus): when ANYONE HEARS  the word of the kingdom and does not understand it, the evil one comes and snatches away what has been sown in his heart. This is what was sown slong the path . As for what was sown on rocky ground, this is the one who hears the word and immediately receives it with joy, yet he has no root in himself, but endures for awhile, and when tribulation or persecution arises on account of the word, immediately he falls away. As for what was sown among thorns, this is the one who hears the word, but the cares of this world and the deceitfulness of riches choke the word, and it PROVES unfruitful. As for what was sown on good soil, THIS IS THE ONE WHO HEARS THE WORD AND UNDERSTANDS IT. HE INDEED BEARS FRUIT AND YIELDS, in one case a hundredfold, in another sixty, and in another thirty. (Matt. 13:18-23….for the actual parable read Matt. 13:1-8).

….

Which hillside (soil) represents your life?

