A Dog and His Wound

Dogs are interesting creatures…

They return to their vomit,

They eat horse road apples,

And they lick their wounds.

Yuck, yuck and yuck!

It’s easy for me to sit here and write about a creature and his disgusting mouth habits,

But it is not easy when similarity is discovered between the dog and the human.

Like licking wounds for example: I admit it, at times I give into the temptation of sitting in a darkened corner hovering over my wound ( or weaknesses) like a dog does his.

It’s shameful really.

The whole act represents acceptance of demonic influence to lead me away from truth.

Self- pity is a demon clothed in enticement and charm.

Like a snake it seduces me to myself, calling out false messages to be believed; Manipulating emotions that render me useless, self-absorbed and weakened to the power of truth that heals.

Hmm..

Maybe a wound licking dog is also similar to a sulking toddler?

Does this mean that this behavior makes me childish? Unable to grow up into truth because yesterdays wounds/ailments/problems/weaknesses are still being fostered today?

Probably..

A dog cannot leave his wound alone, that’s why some dogs wear the “cone of shame” (for some particular ailments) to keep them from preventing their own healing; Even the canine needs aid against his own flesh!

A question now emerges for me…

Is self-pity a weapon against grace?

I am answering that question with the word’s of the Lord Jesus: “My grace is SUFFICIENT for you, for my power is made PERFECT in weakness” (2 Cor. 12:9). 

How about you?

What does your self-pity consist of?

-Unforgiveness? Do you need to extend grace to someone who has wounded you deeply? Do you need to learn to love them through and by the power of Christ and start again?

-Are you fostering ANY pain from the past (licking your wounds)? 

-Does your self-pity consist of a mountain made of “grains of sand?”

-Are you self-absorbed?

If I can quit the “licking” so can you, the same grace that is offered to me is offered to you.

Growing up into maturity in Jesus means leaving infant, sulking ways behind; And ultimately even yourself with your greatest weaknesses.

….

Do we really believe that “I CAN DO ALL THINGS THROUGH HIM WHO STRENGTHENS ME” ???(Phil. 4:13).

