“Be Quiet: Walls Have Ears”

I love to collect old things.
Pieces of furniture, pictures, pottery, antique kitchen items, old window frames, chairs, tables etc. etc.

These old things speak of historical value to me; of a life once live; of a life that utilized these items well and most likely out of necessity.

And they stir wondering…
What if the old things had ears?
Or mouths?
What stories would be told?
What conversations would be repeated?

I play at this same game when I have the priviledge of wandering through a 100 year old house! I itch to press my ear against its’ old walls and listen….

Shhh!!
I think I heard something!
Ah nah…I guess its just my imagination!

Again!

But think of this possibility with me for a minute…

What if EVERY conversation you had in your home was recorded by the walls to be played back for the next owner?
Would you be ashamed?
Would others be offended, hurt or sorrowed as a result of your ill spoken words?

The title of today’s blog is actually one of Charles Spurgeon’s “Salt-cellars” (his own proverbs); The explanation he gives with the proverb is “nobody knows who may be listening. Say nothing which you would not wish put in the daily papers.”

hmmm…

I do play another game with myself (yes, always a good time goin on in my brain!), I pretend that the person(s) that I am about to slaughter with my words is actually standing around the corner and will hear my every word.

Oops!
Mouth stay shut please.

And then I remember God’s word:

“I tell you (Jesus is speaking), on the day of judgement people will give account for every careless word they speak, for by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned” (Matt.12:36-37).

God knows every word that proceeds out of my mouth!

Psalm 139:4 “Even BEFORE a word is on my tongue, behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.”

Prov. 18:21 “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it WILL EAT ITS FRUIT.”

James 1:26 “If anyone thinks he is religious and does not bridle his tongue but deceives his heart, this person’s religion is WORTHLESS.”

James 3 (read the whole chapter, I will cite out verses 8-10),”but no human being can tame the tongue. It is a restless evil, full of deadly poison. With it we bless our Lord and Father, and with it we curse people who are made in the likeness of God. From the SAME mouth come blessing and cursing. My brothers (and sisters) these things ought not to be so.”

Is your mouth being used to shred others? And are you using your mouth to ASSUME or JUDGE or GUESS the why or the what of another’s life? Of another’s heart? Has your mouth become an instrument of destruction?

The word of God has much to say about our mouths! Our words reveal our character, they reveal the TRUTH about who we REALLY are…
Just think about that the next time you’re tempted to speak ill of another or make false assumptions.

Your words may come back to bite you.

Maybe the walls have teeth…

Now there’s a thought!!

