Lost in Butternut Squash Soup

My Jeep stranded me in Vancouver today.

As I was parking on a small hill, I turned my steering wheel counterclock-wise so as to posistion my tires against the curb in case my black horse decided to roll backwards down the hill. I turned the ignition off, grabbed my backpack, sunglasses and jumped out to enjoy a sunny day in the city.

Thankfully I was parked in a “free zone” because when I returned to start up my vehicle, it refused my key. No way Hosay would that key turn in the ignition.

I read my vehicle’s manual determined to figure out what the problem was (this seems to be my life pattern lately), and so drew a conclusion that somehow my steering wheel had been cranked too far which locked it and froze the ignition.

I engaged my clutch, popped the gear into neutral and tried to move my steering wheel. I very quickly concluded I was goin no where too fast.

Long story short, my dear hubby drove all the way into Vancouver to rescue his non-mechanic wife.

He climbed into my Jeep, rocked his weight, cranked the steering wheel back and forth, put the key into the ignition and my black horse was rumbling again!

I am now at home, it is 8:30 p.m. and I’m hungry but am too lazy to cook, so I emptied a carton of organic Butternut Squash soup into a pot to heat it up, grabbed some crackers and cheese and sat down to write.

My first spoonful of my soup collided with my brain and suddenly it was “Fall” in my heart.

How I love the Fall! It is my favorite season of the year! It is a season of slowing, of prepartion, of strong earthy smells; it is a season of homemade soups and breads and garden harvesting; a season of candles and sitting by the fireplace in a cozy chair.

Fall is a season of colour; leaves changing from green to orange and yellow and red;  even the sky seems a deeper blue.

The days begin their journey to darkness sooner and the tempature begins to lower in preparation for Jack Frost.

These cooler days mean that I can pull on my favorite sweaters and go for long walks and breathe deeply that Fall crisp air.

All these memories of sight, smell and taste from one sip of Butternut Squash Soup!

How good of God to give me such a delightful simple pleasure this evening! And it  draws the perfect conclusion to my day that started with reading Psalm 19…

“The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims His handiwork. Day to day pours out speech, and night to night reveals knowledge. There is no speech, nor are there words, whose voice is not heard. Their voice goes out through all the earth, and their words go to the end of the world (vs,1-4),

Isn’t this amazing?

Thank you dear Father in Heaven for a bowl of soup to remind me of so many good things that you have created for my pleasure and for me to hear your voice in the midst of life’s little frustrations!

