A Noisy Bell-Ringer

I am lying low today after a visit to the walk-in clinic.

I am so thankful for Dr.’s and for prescriptive medicine that heals our bodies.

God has a way of getting my attention and time!
This very small curve ball has proven to be a great blessing to me today! I actually slept until 11:30 a.m and have remained in my P.J’s all day! I gave myself permission to listen to my body screaming at me to be still and take some time for reflection.

I am about to embark on another significant move and life change; it has the potential of creating a noisy heart and mind in preparation of its arrival.

I confess that there is much about my own future that remains uncertain and because of that I have looked behind at what has been.

I took some time this afternoon to watch Ruth Bell Graham’s DVD life memoir, (for those of you who may not know, Ruth Bell Graham was wife of Dr. Billy Graham, world evangelist).

I was deeply moved (again) by this woman’s strength and godliness. I listened to the biographer’s account, and the accounting of her children praising her for her quiet heart and keen, witty mind. Apparently she was a women who knew how to control her tongue. Even President Bush Sr.’s wife Barbara, said of her, “Ruth never preached AT you, she talked TO you”.

She was a woman who didn’t need words to love people.
These words of praise spoke deeply to me as personal reflection brought memory of countless times I have had too much to say, kinda like an annoying bell-ringer who doesn’t let go of the dang bell!

I have always had something to say, scripture to quote, advice to give… have I actually thought my words could or would make a difference every time I opened my mouth??!

As a reader you may wonder if I am over analyzing or taking myself too seriously… I don’t think so.

I am thinking of God’s word in 1Peter 3:4;

“…let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.”

I am obviously not burying my voice as a woman, but rather have come to conviction about how I use it.

I believe that if my heart and mind is settled and satisfied in the hands of God then I will not be noisy, pushing or preachy. My words when used, will breathe love, gentleness and kindness; and more often than not, my ears will be busier than my mouth.

I am rambling today…and obviously using words! I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I am to grow at becoming a writer and that part of my future is doing this very thing. Perhaps this is why I now feel such deep conviction about this.

Love expressed through words is powerful; and even confronting at times, but it is never noisy,or rash; never the clanging bell in the tower, rather it compels and draws, never to self but rather to the greatest Lover of our souls.

I suppose that is why the Word of God is themed around just two words: God’s love.

So I end this rambling blog with a plea to God to quiet my noise and enable me to use words as Moses did in Deut. 32:2;

“May my teaching drop as the rain, my speech distill as the dew, like gentle rain upon the tender grass, and like showers upon the herb”.

