My Eyes are Lightbulbs!

I ran into a tree last night…

In a pretend sort of way…

New truth feels like that sometimes; it hits hard and fast and wakes you up in an instant.

Shaded truth is no truth at all and never packs a life changing punch for me! I don’t know how you process, but I personally like the WHAM effect, probably because my skull is THICK!!!

The WHAM came as I read Luke 11:33-36

“No one after lighting a lamp puts it in a cellar or under a basket, but on a stand, so that those who enter may see the light. YOUR EYE is the lamp of your body. When your eye is healthy, your WHOLE BODY is FULL of light, but when it is bad, your body is full of darkness.Therefore be careful lest the light in you be darkness. If then your whole body is full of light, having no part darkness it will be WHOLLY BRIGHT, as when a lamp with its rays gives you light.”

O my word! My eyes are lightbulbs! What a crazy, deep, profound truth!! This means that what I choose to look at, gaze upon and absorb will determine the wattage of my life light.

In Psalm 119:37 we read:

“Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things; and give me life in your ways.”

“Worthless things”…this brings to mind what sin is invited into our lives through our eyes; Like lust and greed for example. 

Think about how many opportunities a day our eyes have to fix on worthless things!

Am I self-aware enough to know what my eyes are doing?

Like how about that beautiful outfit in the store front window? Suddenly my mind and heart are alert with lust and greed and I WANT the whole outfit even though I know I can’t afford it and even worse, I have no need of it! I just WANT it!

 What becomes of these thoughts and where do they go? Do they begin to accumulate like sediment in water? Eventually my body becoming “darker” because of their lurking nature? Am I walking close enough to Jesus to become instantly aware of their existance and repent as a result?

Don’t misunderstand me, this is an example! Enjoying fashion is not a sin! But when it becomes an obsession that drives me, motivates me and becomes me then I have permitted my eyes to absorb into my body a form of control that is not reflecting the light of Jesus but rather drawing attention to self. My vanity receives food and my identity found in what eventually rots…sounds like the light bulb burns out at this point don’t you think?

That is just one late night thought example.

Jesus said in Matthew 5:!4 that we are the light of the world! He went on to say that “a city on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. IN THE SAME WAY, let your light SHINE before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven.”

“Your eye is the lamp of your body”.

How is your lamp burning these days?

What direction are your eyes?

In the words of King David: “One thing I have asked of the Lord, THAT WILL I SEEK AFTER: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the BEAUTY OF THE LORD and to inquire in His temple” (Ps.27:4).

Don’t just take my words about this, how about you ask Jesus to illumine your eyes to the things that will FILL your body with light so that your life will be a city on a hill and the lamp on a stand?

I am on my knees asking the same…I am thinking of the old Amy Grant song “Father’s Eyes”; what would a watching world see of Jesus if our bodies WERE full of Him? what would every passer-by on the street SEE if my eyes carried evidence of a body FULL of light?

I wonder…

 

                          

 

 

Leave a Reply

