To Go With God

“You cannot go with God and stay where you are.”

I don’t remember who is noted for speaking these words, but they speak truth!

You cannot step out onto the water without being willing to lose sight of the shore…

It is one thing to say “I will follow Jesus” and quite another to submit the soul to action…

No more hiding…

No more dragging of the heels…

No more self-focusing…

And…no more arguing with the Creator!

It is NOT normal, not even human-like, to live from within this realm of faith in action. It is not instinctive to us to choose to live suspended from heaven like a shoe hanging from the end of its’ lace.

To choose to TRUST in the One who remains unseen to the naked eye…to trust that He alone holds the other end of the shoe-string, feels life-threatening at the best of times.

“Just swing from the shoe string!” My soul shouts at me!

The idea of it resonates with my desire for adventure, but fear shouts from behind…with words of reason and doubt.

But one passion drives me and burns constant like an ember in an old fire…one passion alone…

The passion to follow Jesus Christ with my LIFE.

He ALWAYS leads me away from myself, away from the shoreline of solid, tangible ground.

The Call to follow reveals what I really believe about God…

And how much I really love HIm.

…..

Pause…

Silence…

Scratch my head…

Pick my nails…

Hmmm…

….

HOW MUCH DO I LOVE HIM?

Will I give my life away to make Him Known? Will I surrender to His re-shaping of my life? Will I face the mighty waves of uncertainty with confident trust? 

….

“After this the Lord appointed seventy-two others and sent them on ahead of him, two by two, into every town and place where HE HIMSELF was about to go. and He said to them, “the harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are FEW. Therefore pray EARNESTLY to the LORD OF THE HARVEST to send out laborers INTO the harvest..(Luke 10:1-2).”

HOW MUCH DO I LOVE HIM?

I will go…

I will be a “laborer”…

Whatever it means for my life…

I will go…

Because I love Him enough to die for Him…

Because He loved me enough to die for me..

I think the shoreline is disappearing on me…/p>

